The Essential Class

By Okiemute Okpurhe

July 5th, 2019

I have a strong passion for story telling, probably because of my interest in Literature in English as a subject during my Secondary School Days. 


Although I have over (13) years of work experience as a Control Officer in the Banking Sector, still there is an emptiness that need to be filled in my life until I was introduced into the Writing Ministry at Ikoyi Baptist Church, Lagos - Nigeria in the year 2015.


This Essential Class really gives all the flavour I needed to spice up the missing parts of my creative writing skills.


Thanks to Guideposts for this wonderful program.


Rating: 5 of 5


The Description Fit the Content

By Jesse Nixon

May 8th, 2019

The content was good - would like to hear some examples of each key point.

Rating: 5 of 5


The Title tells you specifically what you hope to accomplish when you have finished the course

By JoAnn Persichetti

April 25th, 2019

I like the pace of the narrator because it gives me time to take notes.  Also, the repetition of the explanation is  helpfull because it gives me the opportunity to catch something that I may have missed the first time.

Rating: 5 of 5


How to Tell a Great Story

By Guillerma Velasquez

April 18th, 2019

I liked it a lot. I will now start ii all again. It is what I expected, I am now able to write my story in an interesting way. Thank all of you for making this course.

Rating: 5 of 5


Ideas I need to Write Down

By Carolyn Teseneer

April 10th, 2019

John G. is a great teacher,  I will take notes on his talks.   I am starting over, since it has been several weeks since I first started the course.

Rating: 4 of 5


The Essential Writing Course

By Cheryl Johnson

April 8th, 2019

The workbook helped to bring my writing to a new understanding of what a writer whether novice or otherwise has to go through to get a story or article published. Not just the creative process but also in understanding the ins and outs of any king of writing one does. It is an excellent source from which I will keep and go back to for future reference in writing.

Rating: 5 of 5


Excellent

By Shirley Curtis-Klein

April 4th, 2019

I needed to hear this. Life goes along pretty fast sometimes.

Rating: 5 of 5


How to Tell a Great Story

By Pamela Applegate

April 3rd, 2019

I learned so much and enjoyed my time.

Rating: 5 of 5


How to Tell a Great Story

By Monique Mutee

March 28th, 2019

This was a very interesting course. I was captivated. I set a goal to be published by July and thanks to the Master Storytellers: I feel confident and ready due to the knowledge I was given today. So grateful for the low price. What a gift!! Each module is worth that alone!!

Rating: 5 of 5


The Unities

By Nancy Turlington

March 26th, 2019

Good discussion on time, place, and character.  And how important each one is to the story.

Rating: 5 of 5


Good Stuff

By Vickie Oakley

March 20th, 2019

I enjoyed this writing course, "How To Tell A Great Story".   I think there are many great story tellers, but there are few who are brave enough to share as they are uncertain.  This course removes the uncertainty and the participant is allowed to see the editors are real people, interested in real stories.

Rating: 5 of 5


How To Tell A Great Story

By Linda Burgin

March 19th, 2019

Should have taken this long ago.

Rating: 5 of 5


On Point

By Brenda Seekins

March 18th, 2019

Excellent and Brief. A great beginning for any wannabe writer or a quick refresher for someone established. There is always something to learn regardless of how long you've been at it. There's always a different perspective.

Rating: 5 of 5


Enjoyed all the tips and ideas for telling of a great story

By Deborah Kelley

March 14th, 2019

Very well done!  Thanks

Rating: 5 of 5


The Modules Were Informative and Filled With Lots of Practical Application

By David Brannock

March 13th, 2019

I thought the modules were informative and filled with lots of practical application.

Rating: 5 of 5


Exactly What The Course Describes

By Debra Tunney

March 11th, 2019

I am through 4 modules and this course is clear concise and helpful.  As I listen and read along I am framing the different stories of my life within the helpful guidelines as they are shared.  

Rating: 5 of 5


Perfect for what I'm aiming to do

By Kathleen Langston

March 11th, 2019

Best course I've taken yet. Gets right to the heart of the matter, without a lot of extra unnecessary academic extras. Organized in an easy to follow format.

Rating: 5 of 5


The Title is Fitting

By Vivian Kelley

March 8th, 2019

I have been searching for a course like this. My college writing courses, in which I got all A's, did not help me as much as this has. It is worth every penny. I called a friend that reads my stories to check for flow, and told her I had finally found what I had been looking for. Thank you.

Rating: 5 of 5


Give Me More!

By Kari Lineberry

March 8th, 2019

Thank you for offering this course. I really enjoyed every single chapter and video. I took a lot of notes and plan to watch and re-watch each one! My writing skills are improving! Please  give me more!!!! I loved it!

Rating: 5 of 5


Excellent

By Paul Swerdlow

March 7th, 2019

The videos were excellent and even though I have had extensive experience with both writing and speaking, I learned so much from taking the course. The new insights will make me a better writer and speaker. I also found the quizzes helpful and even passed all of them the first time. Being the imperfect character you described, not all of my answers were correct. This leads me to my only criticism. I would have wanted to know what the correct answer was. At the end of each quiz where you repeat the questions, may I suggest that you include the answers.
 
 Thank you for offering this wonderful course.

Rating: 5 of 5


How To Tell a Great Story

By Dorothy Swim

March 7th, 2019

Draw a time line
 The description of the place to add detail to a story
 to write them down in a separate file so I'll have them for later

Rating: 5 of 5


Always Looking for a Great Story

By Heather O Connor

March 6th, 2019

I am a new writer learning how to put some of my adventurous life into great stories that will bring warmth and smiles. I will look back in my collection and add these essential techniques learned today and see if some of my work might be published.

Rating: 4 of 5


Getting Started

By Vesta Smith

March 5th, 2019

1. Who is your Reader
 2. Realizing your reader may not know anything about what you have written.
 3. What do you want your reader to feel after reading your article, book, or paragraph.

Rating: 5 of 5


How To Tell A Great Story

By Louise Ragin

March 3rd, 2019

Very helpful  and useful information.  
 Louise Ragin

Rating: 4 of 5


Learn from the “Masters” at Guideposts on how to “Tell a Great Story!”

By Steven Gould

March 1st, 2019

Prior reviews have described the Course well; “very practical, specific, informative, engaging,” and even wonderful and entertaining!”
 Some go on to say;  “I have taken many Writer’s Courses in the past, but this surpasses them all!” “No University could have done better!”
 “How to Tell a Great Story” is all of these and much more.  It is no exaggeration to subtitle it “The Essential Writing Course”, since it is comprised of years of experience and insight by the “senior staff” (no reference to age!) of the Editors at Guideposts.
 These reviews, and many, many more in a similar vein, accurately sum up this highly educational and insightful course; one that, in my opinion, should be reviewed again and again. Once is not enough; there is a “wealth of knowledge” and informative tips contained in the videos alone that are essential to the process of “great story writing”.
 Just one minor flaw though: at the end showing the “behind the scenes footage”: everyone was so open and honest throughout the video modules; how about showing some humorous outtakes!  
 Great job!  5 Star Rating!

Rating: 5 of 5


Chapter 1

By Bonnie Willey

February 24th, 2019

This is a great start! Very excited to utilize this material.

Rating: 5 of 5


How To Tell A Story!

By Nancy Painter

February 21st, 2019

I would highly recommend this course. It was clear and easy to understand. As a beginning writer, I feel you have given me a foundation on which to build my stories. I have a lot of re-writing to do, but thank you! It encouraged me!
 Nancy Painter

Rating: 5 of 5


Beginning Writer

By Teresa Mcgovern

February 21st, 2019

As I begin to write more stories, this course helped me to develop the characters and properly engage my readers. Thank you.

Rating: 5 of 5


Learned Important Stuff

By Nancy Tubre

February 21st, 2019

Lesson 1 taught me several things I certainly intend to utilize when writing my story.  Thanks!

Rating: 5 of 5


This is so engaging

By Lisa Newkirk

February 21st, 2019

Thank you Guideposts for this lesson. I am brand spanking new to writing and I am feeling like I can write what's in my heart now.

Rating: 5 of 5


How to Tell a Great Story: Three Elements of a Great Story

By Colleen Kessler

February 19th, 2019

Time
 -establish time line for your story -begin at a specific time in the story
 Characters
 -who is in the story -describe the characters
 Place
 -lots of details about the location

Rating: 4 of 5


Caught my attention; promised positive results (acceptance by reader/listener), just what I wanted.

 By Deanne Kuper

February 19th, 2019

Engaged my mind and imagination. I was excited to begin the course. I believe it may be the answer to my questions about writing, about writing exceptionally well.  Maybe I can publish something people will appreciate, learn from and enjoy.

Rating: 5 of 5


What is a story?

By Kay Nelson

February 17th, 2019

Meld together time place and character

Rating: 5 of 5


Characterization

By Pamela M. Williams

February 15th, 2019

Sometimes confusing and unclear

Rating: 4 of 5


The title makes me want to know how a story is really great.

By Anne Blodgett

February 12th, 2019

The three Unities explained in this video were clear and concise and made me want to start right in putting down my time line and describing the places where this story will take place.  I give this lesson a 5 star rating.

Rating: 5 of 5

Simple Introduction to Story Telling would be more appropriate

By Phyllis Lindblade

February 9th, 2019

Mostly clear and sensible, but the story about the cane and saying the cane became a character in the story was not clear and, frankly, made no sense - maybe that was because the "conflict" was not really a conflict, it was just a description of a woman's vanity.

Rating: 4 of 5

A great course for writers

By Becky Villareal

February 7th, 2019

This is a really great course for writers of any experience level. Even though I am a published author, I found the expertise of these speakers quite helpful. I just wish I had seen it before I went through trial and error. I would highly recommend this course for new writers before they begin their journey into the world of publication. This will give you great insight. Also, it is one of the few courses I found to be cost effective for a writer's budget and well worth every penny!

Rating: 5 of 5

Very Informative

By Tim Tracy

January 28th, 2019

Very informative and engaging, I now have a much better idea on writing and submitting a story.
 Thank you,
 Tim

Rating: 4 of 5

A Fabulous Course

By Trish Burrows

January 19th, 2019

I loved the short modules that focus on the core information. My life is busy, as is many others, and having content that was clear and direct was very appealing to me. I learned so much and it came at the perfect time, as I just finished my first draft. I delayed starting the course until I had finished the first draft, as I like to take a break to clear my mind before the editing process. I am eager to start my rewrite in a few days. I feel empowered to begin this next step in the process.  
 Trish B.

Rating: 5 of 5

Reliable Narrator

By Claire Phillips

January 17th, 2019

Every course is very practical, specific, insightful.  I gained great information from this.  Especially, I liked the idea of sketching out the narrator's past, being specific, giving details.  Also, the idea of being real, not always doing things right, is very helpful to reflect on.  
 
 The question about the narrator needing to change throughout the story baffles me (quiz).  I remember the important point you made that the narrator must be consistent throughout the story.  I got this wrong on the quiz and I need some feedback from you regarding this.  Thank you.  5 star rating

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Carl McMillin

January 16th, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed all the techniques reviewed in this course about writing a story that holds reader's attention from beginning to end and that resolves conflicts and shows character growth in a believable and likable conclusion.
 Thanks for a great and new experience for me, an 88 year old man who wants to write his story for his family.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Delphine Reed

January 11th, 2019

I reviewed the course content and went back and forth about whether I would purchase it. There was ONE directive in the very first lesson that was worth the entire course. Creating a Timeline of my story is proving to be a necessity. I had already started my story but came to a standstill. The Timeline will be my next step.
 This course is presented with simplicity, but loaded with valuable content.

Rating: 5 of 5

Worthy!

By Karen Hoehman

January 11th, 2019

I really enjoyed the course How to Tell a Great Story. It is a bonus that the course did not need to be completed on a specific timeline as there are times when I need to complete 5 classes immediately. The information was clear and the handouts are tremendous help. Thank you.

Rating: 5 of 5 

How To Tell A Great Story

By Nancy Bennett

January 10th, 2019

Excellent. I learned so much and can't wait to get re-writing.

Rating: 5 of 5

Perfect!

By Tina Jude

January 9th, 2019

Having taken other writing courses I will say this course was so concise, simply taught, and direct. I truly enjoyed this learning experience. Thank you! I can hardly wait to write and submit all the stories I have to share.

Rating: 5 of 5

How Will I Improve My Writing

By John Broadwell

January 4th, 2019

As a relative neophyte in writing stories, I found the lessons to all have something new to offer, or to reinforce points I have learned from other sources.  I am in the (hopefully) final editing stages of a young adult novel and was pleasantly surprised at how my book conforms to many of the suggestions offered in the course.  Of course, I may be less than objective.  I have had several shorter stories rejected  by various publishers, and am awaiting word on a piece I submitted a couple months ago to "Reminisce."
 Thank you for offering this course, and thank you for pricing it reasonably.

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent Course

By Jessica Ferguson

December 22nd, 2018

I've been writing and publishing for 35+ years. I live in the camp of "never quit learning" so I was excited to see a course offered from Guidepost since I do have a few rejection slips from them. This course exceeded my expectations. I knew much of what they talked about, but the way they presented it, their examples and explanations, fine-tuned what I know. We all learn a lot through our reading; it's like we learn through osmosis, but when we are taught specifics and the reasoning behind those specifics, we become better writers.
 
 This course is for beginners and experienced writers. If God calls us to write, we have a responsibility to learn all we can about writing for publication and how to become the best writer we can be. This course will not only set us on the right path but give us confidence that we've done our best. Hats off to the editors!

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Connie Huntington

November 1st, 2018

I found the course helpful and the presenters interesting. They kept the information concise and logical by giving examples of their themes. I would recommend the course to others.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Joyce Dreiling

October 29th, 2018

This is a great course. It took me a while to figure out how to view the video lessons and take the quizzes. But I did it finally. For quite some time It would show a pop up that said that no courses were purchased.  I was getting pretty perturbed. But I finally figured it out. I watched the last video for the 12th and final lesson twice and it kept telling me that I was about 96 or 98 % done.

Rating: 5 of 5

Observations for the Guideposts 'How To Tell A Great Story'

By David Loveless

October 11th, 2018

I have enjoyed taking the course. I gained much needed insight into what makes a good story and how to accomplish that task. I have often in the past desired to write about my dad's life. He had Christian parents, but showed no desire to follow their path for his life. He loved to drink and smoke and as far as we know he had five wives and no divorces. He received Christ when he was 76 years old and became a different man. His pastor said that my dad's funeral was the largest ever at the church. He was an example of a changed life and I'd like to share that story.
 I will revisit the classes and then start my quest. The money spent on this course was well spent in my opinion.

Rating: 5 of 5

I Recommend This Guideposts Academy Creative Writing Course

By Rebecca Parsons

October 17th, 2018

I recommend this Guideposts Academy Creative Writing Course to all my blogging friends. The self-paced creative storytelling course contains 12 video modules that will guide you in your creative writing journey. Guideposts editors share how to make your story compelling and entertaining. The accompanying 42 page workbook helps you flesh out your story with prompts and reminders of the top content from the videos. They make it easy to write with more thought and care.

Rating: 5 of 5

When I Started The Course..

By Lovely You Blog

October 17th, 2018

When I started the course, I intended on breaking the lessons up, doing a little here and a little there. But the videos were so interesting and as I started to see how the instruction could be applied to my writing, I couldn't stop!

Rating: 5 of 5

I Am Actually Surprised

By Harvest Lane Cottage

October 17th, 2018

I am actually surprised at the quality and depth of this course. I didn't learn this in my college English classes .... and I was an English major!

Rating: 5 of 5

Comprehensive, Concise and Informative

By Robbie Pink

September 24th, 2018

I can’t say enough good things about the phenomenal writing course offered by Guideposts!

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent Course for a Beginner Writer

By Claire Billings

September 23rd, 2018

I have bought several writing books and attended some writing classes.  This was a great class to cover the basics and provide tips from wonderful, experienced Guidepost editors.  The handout that covers the key points and room for writing was very helpful.  Each of the 12 modules is about 10 - 12 minutes, so it breaks down key topics such as "Where to Start Your Story,"  "What is the  Story's Conflict?", "Characterization," "Reliable Narrator" "Moving it Along with Scenes," "Moving it Along with Dialog," and "Where to End Your Story" into interesting, manageable sizes.  They gave tips that I had not seen in my books and to help prevent you from making common mistakes.  A very worthwhile investment for yourself!

Rating: 5 of 5 

A Pleasure to Learn with Guideposts Academy

By Susan Jackson

September 17th, 2018

With a full heart and mind of excitement, I just completed How To Tell A Great Story. I am so excited about what I have learned. The Guideposts Editors did a fantastic job teaching this in such a way anyone can grasp. I love how their personalities shine through as they teach, It helped me feel as if I was there. The information is amazing and I feel well equipped to now write my story. I really love how you can re-watch the lessons as needed. I am excited about displaying my certificate on a resume as well. Well done Guideposts Academy.

Rating: 5 of 5

Valuable Information for a New Writer

By Julie Grace

September 14th, 2018

The lessons really got to the bones of good writing. They were the right length to be able to be completed even for someone on a tight schedule.  What was covered in the lessons was the most valuable information for me as a fairly new writer. It opened my eyes to my own mistakes.  
 
 The skills I learned in this course, give me the basics to build on and I would highly recommend it to a new writer or seasoned writer that maybe needs a refresher course.
 
 The course was uplifting and would give hope to any inspiring writer.  Very well done.
 I will definitely watch for future courses.

Rating: 5 of 5

Well Done!

By Judy Davis

August 24th, 2018

How To Tell A Great Story was very informative. The editors did an excellent job teaching the main points of creative writing. I printed out the workbook, worked on a lesson each day, and completed the course in short time. I felt like I had been to a Writer's Conference. I look forward to writing and sharing my own story. Thank you Guideposts editors!

Rating: 5 of 5

A fresh reminder of the importance of the skills of writing

By Teresa Smith

August 14th, 2018

Thank you for the information provided through the class. I found it very informative and even reminding me of a few important details I have learned through the writing guild I am a part of. Writing should provoke the emotion and uplift and inspire the reader providing a take away value for the reader. I also enjoy the stories provided through Guidepost. May have to revisit this course again as a refresher again in the future.

Rating: 5 of 5

Just Wow!!

By Curtis Gay

July 31st, 2018

What a great little course. There were so many helpful comments and suggestions I found myself rewinding and repeating. This is an extremely valuable course. thank you!

Rating: 5 of 5

The title lives up to its name!

By Sharon Shepard

July 29th, 2018

I appreciate the way the lessons were delivered by  those who have grown through years of experience, but also from the heart.
 
 So much to learn and yet, this course wet my appetite and has spurred me on!

Rating: 5 of 5

Best writing course I've taken yet!

By Lena Wright

July 16th, 2018

As a writer you will make many investments to further your career. One of the hardest ones I've had to make in my own career is workshops. The main question I always ask is will the return on investment be worth the money I am about to spend? I can tell you I have spent hundreds of dollars on writing courses and none of them have come close to this one. The editors at Guidepost really provide a wealth of knowledge and do an amazing job at explaining it in a way that's easy to understand and apply. I can't wait to go back and use the what I've learned through this course to rewrite my own work.

Rating: 5 of 5

Guideposts Academy 5 Stars

By Patricia Parish 

July 8th, 2018

This course an incredible opportunity for me. No university could have done better. So much for so little money. I thank you all so very much. Will be sending something to you all regularly even if all I get is rejections! So grateful for the helpful information, I am tearing up as I write this. Patricia (Pat) Parish, Blessings to the teachers and all your personnel.

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent Course!

By Jarita Davis

July 3rd, 2018

Thank you for sharing your expertise, guidance, and taking time to make this course available. It was an exceptional and enjoyable course to take and nurture. I'm planning to review it again, and again...
 
 Again, many thanks for this wonderful course of "How To Tell A Story." I'm looking forward to give something to the universe.
 Jarita Davis

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story- Review

By Gregg Moser

June 24th, 2018

Enjoyed your course - had to refer back to notes and text several times - overall learned about writing craft - thanks.

Rating: 5 of 5

The title fits the course!  With the direction included in the course a much more interesting story can be told.

By Terry Stafford

June 17th, 2018

Each of the instructors in this course were both knowledgeable and well meaning and seemed happy to be helping other writers become 'just a little more' than they were before entering the course. I went quickly through it looking for the catch, but saw that there was none. I now intend to go back and pour over the course to glean all I  possibly can from a well put quick course for any writer. Thank you so much for your time and efforts. I for one am thankful for you and your efforts.

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent Course

By Heather Popish

June 12th, 2018

I was given this online class as a birthday present. I have gone through all of it once, and learned a lot of really helpful information I can’t wait to put to use in my writing. I liked how I was able to print out the handbook to take notes in, that I could go at my own pace, and that I can go back and watch the videos as many times as I want.

Rating: 5 of 5

Wonderful!

By Theresa Hanus

June 11th, 2018

I enjoyed your course so much. Thank you. I now feel I have the tools and motivation to get going.
 You gave us structure so we can break down the components of the story, and can figure out much better now, how to
 put them together!

Rating: 5 of 5

Priceless!

By Cathy Hoheisel

June 10th, 2018

I am forever grateful to the Guideposts editors who presented this course in such a way to help make writing great stories an achievable goal for me. The real-life people on the videos made this course come alive for me. I will be watching the course videos repeatedly not only because of the valuable information but also because of the positive energy I receive from them. This course is Priceless. I only wish I would have taken this before, and not after I submitted my Writers Workshop story. I will keep writing though! Thank You for offering this amazing course, and at such an affordable price.
 Feeling oh so Grateful

Rating: 5 of 5

Good

By Thomas Wallace

June 9th,2018

I found the lessons to be very helpful. The only comment I would make is that the last lesson seemed to lack detail. I still have questions about how to submit an article.

Rating: 4 of 5

Great title.

By Rosalyn Morgan

June 8th, 2018

Excellent class.  I learned so much on how to write a great story.  thank you.

Rating: 5 of 5

Great Information!

By Kathy Klopp

June 6th, 2018

As a fairly new writer, this course was just what I needed. I really liked the fact that each video took less than 20 minutes to view and take the test. I was able to work it in as time allowed with my travel schedule. I am now equipped and ready to get my story together to submit to the Guidepost contest!

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Susan Bravard

June 5th, 2018

So much quality information was packed into this course! It was very well-organized and presented; it was certainly well-worth the price. They set the standards high! I had no idea I had so much to learn.

Rating: 5 of 5

Perfect

By Christine Golladay

June 5th, 2018

Great reminders as well as new aha moments

Rating: 5 of 5

Good Title

By Kathy Ann McDermott

June 1st, 2018

Excellent.  Thank you!  Wonderful presentation.

Rating: 5 of 5

Catches Interest

By Joyce Stone

June 1st, 2018

This course is outstanding.  Concise, informative, and very well done.

Rating: 5 of 5

Just What It's About

By Charlotte Thwing

May 28th, 2018

Very helpful! Gives all the nuts and bolts of writing a good story. The examples from various stories to describe a feature , like characterization, were most helpful.  The videos and the back and forth between different writers made it interesting and good to get different perspectives, male and female, different styles, etc. The quizzes after each chapter helped me see if I really got it and sometimes the outcomes surprised me. Having the structure of the presentations helped model the importance of logic and structure.

Rating: 5 of 5

Course For Writers

By Jacqueline Eberle

May 23rd, 2018

As someone who has subscribed to Angels on Earth and Guideposts for several years, it was good to listen to the perspectives of editors and writers I have been familiar with.  It was presented in a concise manner that made it easier for people with no writing experience to understand.  Very well done by everyone involved.

Rating: 5 of 5

Little Steps Towards New Challenges

By Denice Baldetti

May 18th, 2018

I stumbled upon this course after a friend loaned me an issue of Guideposts magazine.  I am so glad I did. I truly feel there is a reason for receiving that copy . . . thus, STEP ONE for me was quickly subscribing to the magazine!
 
 This Guideposts Academy was a wonderful learning experience, and also very affordable.  I loved the short modules, and how each module specifically focused on one topic.  The quizzes were motivational to ensure that learning "sinks in."  I very much appreciated that each video instructor is actually an editor at Guideposts.  What a perfect way to learn exactly what types of stories and formats Guideposts is looking for - from the editors themselves!  The presentations were informative, engaging, and well-prepared.  For me, STEP TWO has been a breath of writing motivation.
 
 STEP THREE is now underway as I begin crafting a couple of pieces to submit to Guideposts magazine.  Before me a carrot has been dangled, a contest has been offered and I have happily accepted it with the spirit of a challenge!
 
 Thank you to everyone at Guideposts for the work involved to put together a wonderful writing academy experience!  
 
 Denice B.  
 
 Rating: 5 of 5

Tells it all concisely

By Pat Rapier

May 16th, 2018

I enjoyed each Lesson as they built on each other and included several points of view,  It was easy to understand and encouraging.

Rating: 5 of 5

The entire course

By Hlutywayo Rodney Phiri

May 7th, 2018

An excellent course. Got value for money. Recommend it to anyone wishing to learn how to write stories.

Rating: 5 of 5

An excellent overview!

By Mike McCrary

May 2nd, 2018

I really think I get the idea for writing a quality piece for Guideposts and coupled with B. J. Taylor's helpful course on the same subject, I feel like I can get to work on a submission for the coming contest. Thank you Guideposts Academy!

Rating: 5 of 5

Quick Course that is Very Helpful

By Barbara Litchfield

April 30th, 2018

Thus course is excellent!  The short recorded sessions with Edward, Rick, Colleen, Jim, and Amy, were full of helpful information for writers in any genre.  The workbook download helped me with note taking and reinforced the learning.  I also am grateful that I can retake the course whenever I need a refresher.  It is definitely worth $24.99.

Rating: 5 of 5

Incredible Insights by Inspiring Instructors

By Melanie Glickman

April 30th, 2018

The insights shared by the fantastic team of Guideposts instructors provided me with specific guidance about how to write impactful first-person stories from the heart. The instructors offered space to allow for personal leeway as well, thereby creating the ideal mix of publishing wisdom and individual contributions.
 
 It's been a blessing to participate in this course, and I'm grateful to the Guideposts team for preparing the content so thoroughly and delivering the messages so powerfully.
 
 And now, I'm off to write, write, and write some more!

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent Course

By Karen Malena

April 29th, 2018

In all my years of belonging to writer's groups, I never learned as much as this course taught. Each module was easy to follow and loaded with suggestions and ideas to better writing. Great workbook, awesome dialogue, good tests that made me think. I highly recommend this to anyone in groups, or alone who would love to learn more about the craft, better themselves, and truly get started on a rewarding journey of writing.

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent

By Connie Dominguez

April 27th, 2018

The title and text represent the lessons in the course, thereby "showing", even though  you were "telling".  
 
 I appreciated the logical, step-by-step instruction, building from the basics through to submitting a story for publication, as well as the kind encouragement of the editors who spoke.
 
 It would be helpful to have transcripts of the videos.  The workbook has most of the salient points, but some gems - "...to pose questions to the reader they may never have pondered..." required many mouse clicks to transcribe.
 
 Thank you again.
 Connie McDuffee Dominguez

Rating: 5 of 5

Course Review for How To Tell A Great Story

By Debbie Polk

April 26th, 2018

How to tell a great story course was excellent for the novice writer.
 Not only did I learn from this course I also appreciated all the examples you gave that continue to help while I'm using the Unities in engaging the reader.
 
 Thank-you Edward, Rick, Amy, Colleen,  and Jim.  
 
 Now it's time to sit in that chair to write.

Rating: 5 of 5

It fit perfectly!

By Cindy King

April 18th, 2018

I felt it was succinct and right on point. I am glad I got the opportunity to take this course!

Rating: 5 of 5

How to Tell a Great Story

By Margaret Livingston

April 13th, 2018

The lessons were quite informative.  I learned several important concepts, ideas, and enjoyed the basic structure and terminology.  The videos flowed nicely into the quiz, and I liked the idea of being able to retake a test since I hate to see a big red X on my screen!  I am very happy that I found this on Guideposts' website and I feel a bit more confident in starting my story which I will be sending in soon.  Thank you for caring about your readers and providing such great insights to proper writing skills and storytelling.

Rating: 5 of 5

This Course was Very Informative, Entertaining & Challenging to this Beginning Writer!

By Debra Trinchini

April 13th, 2018

Thank you folks for going through what you did for this course; I know it was work for you but also "fun" too.  Wish schools would teach it!  Guess what?  It is not only helping me with writing, but helping with speaking too!...clear, succinct words to "show" a picture on my side of any dialogue!...more fun to speak now too.  Love Guideposts - for many years now!

Rating: 5 of 5

A Great Course writing and reading

by Sa'Che Jacks

April 6th, 2018

Highly recommended!  This course was great for writing as well as identifying a great story.  Thank you, Guidepost.

Rating: 5 of 5

Excellent

by Debra Lippi

April 6th, 2018

Excellent course. Very enjoyable and looking forward to writing and submitting my work.
 Thank you.

Rating: 5 of 5

Extremely Helpful!

by Robyn Edwards

April 5th, 2018

This course was extremely helpful! Each lesson was succinct and easy to follow. It provided exactly the information I need to start writing and submitting my stories.  I highly recommend this course to anyone who has ever wanted to write for publication.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story Completed

By Sherry Jackman

April 2nd, 2018

I am very pleased with your course. As a college graduate who has taken several writing courses, two of which included research papers, I was delighted to see how much good concise meat was in your material. I can highly recommend it to others and am glad I found it in time to prepare a story for the writers workshop contest I read about in the current issue of Guidepost. Thank you for developing such a comprehensive course that, while being short in duration of time needed to complete the course, contained such wealth of quality material.
 
 I have already noticed an improvement in my personal emails. Even though I had excellent writing and editing skills from various jobs and secretarial positions in professional organizations, I had allowed my personal emails to become sloppy, rambling tomes that forgot the time constraints of my readers, even though I know most of them personally.
 
 Thank you so much for this class. I look forward to developing the necessary skills to write for your magazines. I have many stories of how God has moved in my life of 73 1/2 years and look forward to sharing them with your readers.

Rating: 5 of 5

The title is exactly what the class is about. I like the title. It is specific and simple.

By Joan Hoover

April 1st, 2018

I loved these teachings!  
 I believe this class gave me all the nuts and bolts to put together a very readable story!
 Thank you for helping me not to feel so intimidated about writing! :)

Rating: 5 of 5

Great

By Ellen Kimbriel

March 29th, 2018

A lot of useful information was given. The tips were clear and concise. I would like to know what size font and what spacing should be used when submitting a story.

Rating: 5 of 5

Guideposts Academy

By Lu Ross

March 20th, 2018

I have attended writing workshops, webinars, and conferences for years. I must tell you, I have gained more from this webinar than I have from the total of those other methods to learn about writing. Thank you for being straightforward, yet thorough, in your presentation. You are giving the nuts and bolts without fluff, which I really appreciate.

Thank you again!

Lu Fiskin-Ross

Rating: 5 of 5

Wonderful Course

By Jennifer Balding

March 13, 2018

I really learned a lot from this course. I always thought you had to have a large amount of flowery and complicated sentences to be a great writer. The presenters provided very useful information and were encouraging too. Well worth more than the actual cost of the course.

Rating: 5 of 5

A Great Overview of Writing Basics

By Karen Baase

March 13, 2018

I really enjoyed and learned from the GP training. It's given me an additional incentive to "get to work" and apply the basic guidelines all the instructors covered relating to good writing. Thank you so much!


Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story (Basics For Story Writing)

By Rudy Hoggard

March 5th, 2018

I loved the course.  More meat than I have mouth to chew.  I will have to recap the lessons, continually to get the insights into my brain down to my left-handed pen.
 I appreciate the way the workshop was Internet friendly.  You could pause, take notes, repeat, and listen again.  
 I hope in the near future, I can submit an article to Guideposts about what God has done in my life after losing my 27-year-old son. - Rudy g. Hoggard

Rating: 5 of 5

The Essential Writing Course certainly lived up to its title!

By Sharon Fulham

February 28th, 2018

This course was a smorgasbord of rich information.  It targeted some weaknesses I need to build on, and strengths I already have as a writer.  In Chapter 4 I learned  that a story can be concluded with a partially resolved conflict. What a relief that was!  All stories do not have to have a perfect ending. I am working on a story to submit and now know how it should end.  I have also struggled with how much dialogue is needed. Edward recommended 2-4 sentences,  and to keep dialogue crisp, direct and without long paragraphs. This helped me tremendously! I took this course to become a better writer and  have definitely "gleaned" from the 12 videos modules and the quizzes which followed.  I will refer to these lessons again and again. Thank you Edward, Jim, Colleen, Amy and Rick for your excellent presentations! You have made  my writing experience far richer than I ever could have imagined.

Rating: 5 of 5

Guidepost Answers to Queries

By Cherel MIchelle WhiteHawk

February 26th, 2018

A gracious thank you, from one writer who has written for years, yet continually afraid to submit anything. However, I decided to begin submitting my writing, but wondered, just how to write in a format Guidepost, accepted.  
 
 Okay, I have subscribed to many of your publications, being dyslexic it sometimes is hard to comprehend, to answer to the 5W's. Yes, I have studied writing, but your criteria is different from my writing style. Yes, the timing proved perfect for me and answered numerous questions.
 
 Cherel Michelle RedSun WhiteHawk
 Michelle.EagleHawk@bresnan.net

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Teresa Maxwell

February 26th, 2018

Excellent Course!

Rating: 5 of 5

Refresher for All Writers


By Laura Hughes

February 19th, 2018

Even though I have a bachelor's degree in English literature and have self-published two books, I can always learn more as a writer. The tips were practical advice and a lot of information that I did not always give much thought to in my works as a writer. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve his/her writing skills and especially for those who want to have one of their stories published in Guideposts.

Rating: 5 of 5

Great Course


By Chaundra Saenz

February 8th, 2018


This was a wonderful and extremely helpful course. I primarily write fiction, but wanted to get into creative non-fiction. The information I learned will help in both areas. Thanks for making this affordable and easy to follow.

Rating: 5 of 5

A tool box for All writers


By Melissa Gould

January 31st, 2018

I've taken numerous writer's workshops in person, and online, and I must say this has been the most helpful and concise!
 The information is presented by engaging speakers -  familiar to me, from all my years of reading Guideposts.
 I especially liked the format of lecture followed by quizzes.
 I am so excited to shape up my stories by using my new tools.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story  ......A Great Title!

By Maria Iacuele

January 23rd, 2018

I am super grateful that I just happened to discover this on line. And, interestingly, today I got my Guidepost in the mail and just happened to read about this course which I just happened to finish today!  I call that a God Wink as SQuire Rushnell and Louise Duart would say. I've been led to all of this and am hoping to begin my writing again.  I wrote screenplays for years and was a runner up several times but, that was it. Now...I'm trusting God more than ever before and hoping HE may use my words to help others. We shall see. Anyway, this was a fantastic course and I will continue to listen to it over and over.
 I give this course a Five Star for sure. It was wonderful. Thank you to Guidepost for this!

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story


By Barbra Sonnen Hernandez

January 17th, 2018

Just completed my course and it was wonderful! The Editors involved spoke my language, "simple". I look forward to submitting a story to Guideposts and see what happens.....
 Heading out now to buy a frame for my certificate. Thank you Guideposts.

Rating: 5 of 5

The Essential Writing Course

By Jennifer Clark Vihel

January 11th, 2018

I just completed Lesson 4. And I just want to say to you all—Edward, Jim, Colleen, Amy, and Rick—that you’ve hit a home run with this course! I have been traveling, am exhausted, and have been dragging my heels on the rewrite of my “Paws” dog story. And honestly, I was resistant to one more thing to do before tackling the needed changes revealed in San Fran. But today, I began The Essential Writing Course From the Editors of Guideposts and I am only stopping at Lesson 4 because I have to come up with supper for my family! I fully intend to return tonight and finish the rest. This is a great course.

Maybe I’m a slow learner—must be, because I’ve had great insight offered in the past—but this course makes the effort all come together so beautifully. As a former teacher, I appreciated the set-up you have adopted. The videos are great, informative and entertaining. The study guide re-enforces what is taught and allows room for speculation notes on how to better own current story. And the test after each chapter holds us accountable, but gives the writer the opportunity to re-learn, if needed. It a good package. I’d recommend it to any writer.

So, instead of moaning my way through, I find myself wanting to give all of you a high-five from one of your impressed writers. Please share with the rest of the staff, if you so choose.

Well done.

Rating: 5 of 5

An excellent, down-to-earth online course

By George Tabbert

January 8th, 2018

I enjoyed the course.   My undergraduate English coursework consisted of only two composition classes plus what seemed like lots of literature appreciation classes (my majors were biology and psychology).  What you all talked about was mostly new to me.   Your course was interesting and will prove helpful in the future.  I like to write histories and interpretive guides and such and like to end each piece with a story -- of what might be in the future.  
 You all have excellent teaching skills. And yes, I appreciated your bluntness as well as your encouraging words to students taking part in this online course.

Rating: 5 of 5

The Formula I've Been Looking For!

By Sue Rice

January 7th, 2018

Thank you for this helpful program.  I was a business major in college, and was not asked to come up with stories for readers.  Now that I am retired, I find I enjoy writing.  I belong to 2 writers' groups and gain tidbits here and there regarding what makes a story successful.  This course was exactly what I have been looking for to gain insight and a "formula" for storytelling.  Thank you to the people who so clearly articulated what I need to do to write a story that will engage the reader.    You published one of my stories, but not without a great deal of editing.  I recently submitted a second story, and wish I had waited until I completed this course.

Rating: 5 of 5

Not Flakes, But Golden Nuggets of Writing Wisdom

By Jeanette Levellie

January 4th, 2018

When I signed up for this course, I imagined I would glean a few gold flakes of writing advice to help me craft better stories. After all, I'd been a published writer for over thirty-five years.
 
 I was so wrong.
 
 What I found instead of flakes were substantial nuggets--from engaging the reader to making dialogue crisp to avoiding rabbit holes--this course is a gold mine of writing wisdom. Thank you for offering it--I will recommend it to my writing friends, both novices and seasoned writers.

Rating: 5 of 5

Good solid advice from people who know what they are talking about

By Crystal Eberle

January 2nd, 2018

I finished the course today and realized that most of what I heard was well needed review.  I appreciated the concise chapters and the practical suggestions.  I finished it feeling ready to write again, so here I go!  
 
 I appreciated that the presenters were not just actors, but the actual editorial staff of Guideposts.  This made me really listen up.

Rating: 4 of 5

I thought the Title was appropriate as I never looked at my writings as stories, but they are!

By Patricia Long

December 31st, 2017

The fact that it was audio and visual helped engage me.  I watched each video, took each test, then stopped for a few days.  Then, I watched each again, not thinking of the tests, just learning.  
 
 I share one part that is still perplexing - the cover letter, "3 paragraphs of stating concisely the story".  Was this to be submitted with each story, or is this the submission?
 
 Finally, I only listened (did not watch) to each video (starting at 12 and going backwards to 'change it up') and typed my notes while listening.  For me this was the greatest culmination of how I learned.  
 
 The cost was so affordable, it was appreciated!
 
 The content was really great. Even though I have been writing 'musings' and poems for years, I can see clearly changes need made!
 
 The fact that you had different 'speakers' kept my attention. You shared what to do, what not to do and How to do it!  It all came together wonderfully.  For me, even going backwards and starting with #12 caused me to learn more from a different perspective and point of time in the writing.
 
 Thank you!  I pray I may be able to rewrite many of my life's stories and encourage and uplift others.

Rating: 5 of 5

GREAT!

By Dianne McCleery

December 8th, 2017

GREAT course on how to tell a story, no matter what genre or fiction or non-fiction. The printed material plus the videos solidify the information. The best $24.99 investment you could make! Dianne McCleery

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Laurel Thomas

December 7th, 2017

What a bargain this class is! The information is clear and helpful for anyone who wants to relate stories in a way that engage and impact the reader.  Skilled presenters and essential information! Thanks, Guideposts.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Iris Alderson

December 1st, 2017

Thank you so much for this short course. It was the best ever. I have learned so much.  Once again thank you for offering it and God Bless.

Rating: 5 of 5

How To Tell A Great Story

By Barbara Schmidt

November 26th, 2017

I found this course by accident.  I have subscribed to several Guidepost booklets over several years.  When this course became available on line I immediately paid my fees and thought okay, here is my first step in learning how to write a book.  I not only learned the basics, but so much more.  It was an excellent learning tool for me.  At some point I will be writing my autobiography and hopefully do a self publishing situation so I can give all of my relatives and immediate family members a copy of my book.  These are the people who have been very instrumental in helping me in life and being able to happily say that I will be celebrating my 65th birthday in April 2018!!!!

Rating: 5 of 5

Learned so much!

By Shari Riggs

November 23rd, 2017

This course was concise, understandable and easy to listen to.  Having the quiz follow each chapter helped cement what I had learned.  Of great importance to me is it's user-friendly.  You've made me excited to get my stories written!!

Rating: 5 of 5

I Recommend This Guideposts Academy Creative Writing Course

By Rebecca Parsons

October 17th, 2018

I recommend this Guideposts Academy Creative Writing Course to all my blogging friends. The self-paced creative storytelling course contains 12 video modules that will guide you in your creative writing journey. Guideposts editors share how to make your story compelling and entertaining. The accompanying 42 page workbook helps you flesh out your story with prompts and reminders of the top content from the videos. They make it easy to write with more thought and care.

Rating: 5 of 5